If You’ve Been Charged With Damage to Property Crime in Minnesota, Contact Attorney Joshua London Right Away!
In Minnesota, criminal level property damage is a serious offense. It can be charged as either a misdemeanor or felony, with conviction resulting in imprisonment and thousands of dollars in fines. The penalties can negatively impact your life for years on end. For example, a mark on your criminal record could make it challenging to get a job or find a place to live. If you’ve been accused of criminal damage to property, you need a lawyer on your side who knows how to fight your charge and seek a favorable outcome on your behalf.
London Defense is experienced in dealing with property damage cases. We are well versed in all laws and will build a defense with the best result in mind. When you hire us, your case will receive the attention it needs from beginning to end. Additionally, we’re accessible and available 24/7.
Property Damage Laws in Minnesota
In Minnesota, criminal damage to property is defined as causing physical damage to someone else’s possessions without consent. Four degrees of these offenses exist, which are separated based on the varying degrees.
Criminal Damage to Property 1st Degree in Minnesota
A person can be charged with a first-degree offense if:
- The damage they caused put another person at risk of bodily harm;
- They public safety vehicle to the point that its service was substantially impaired or interrupted or the damage caused a risk of bodily harm;
- The damaged property’s value was reduced by over $1,000; or
- The damaged property’s value was reduced by $500 and the individual had previously been convicted of an offense within the past 3 years
First-degree criminal damage to property is a felony. A conviction is punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Criminal Damage to Property 2nd Degree in Minnesota
A second-degree charge is brought up when:
- Causes damage that reduces the value of the property by between $500 and $1,000, or damages a public safety vehicle; and
- The offense was carried out because of the alleged victim’s actual or perceived race, ethnicity, or sexual orientation.
Criminal damage to property in the second degree is also a felony. It’s punishable by up to 1 year, 1 day imprisonment and/or a fine of up to $3,000.
Criminal Damage to Property 3rd Degree in Minnesota
An individual may be accused of committing a third-degree offense if they…
- Cause damage that reduces the value of the property by between $500 and $1,000; or
- Cause damage to a public safety vehicle
The conviction penalties for third-degree criminal property damage include up to 1 year in jail and/or a fine of up to $3,000.